商用無料の写真検索さん
           


Auditorium Building, Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL : 無料・フリー素材/写真

Auditorium Building, Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL / w_lemay
このタグをブログ記事に貼り付けてください。
トリミング(切り除き):
使用画像:     注:元画像によっては、全ての大きさが同じ場合があります。
サイズ:横      位置:上から 左から 写真をドラッグしても調整できます。
あなたのブログで、ぜひこのサービスを紹介してください!(^^
Auditorium Building, Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL

QRコード

ライセンスクリエイティブ・コモンズ 表示-継承 2.1
説明Built in 1889-1890, this Richardsonian Romanesque Revival and Chicago School-style building was designed by Adler and Sullivan to serve as a multi-use complex with a 4,300-seat auditorium, 136 office suites, a 400-room hotel, and a dining hall. The building stands 17 stories and 236 feet (71 meters) tall and was the second-tallest in Chicago when it was built, only exceeded in height by the Masonic Building. The building’s exterior is based on the Romanesque Revival architecture of Henry Hobson Richardson, with the interior being a far more flamboyant and expressive design incorporating many of Louis Sullivan’s Art Nouveau-inspired Sullivanesque details and motifs, with the building being the first significant large-scale commission for the fledgling firm of Adler and Sullivan, with Frank Lloyd Wright having worked as a draftsman on this project. The building was completed prior to the 1893 Columbian Exposition World’s Fair, with the first major event to take place in the building being the 1888 Republican National Convention, which was held in the auditorium while the building was still incomplete and did not yet include the offices or hotel rooms. The building was the home of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra from its debut in 1891 until the Chicago Symphony Center was completed in 1904, and hosted the Chicago Civic Opera, which was founded in 1922, until the Civic Opera House was completed in 1929. The building was among the first air-conditioned public spaces in the United States, and was among the first theaters to be lit entirely by incandescent electric light bulbs. The top of the tower housed the offices of Adler and Sullivan in the 1890s, and was utilized as a servicemen's center by the City of Chicago between 1941 and 1947. The historic auditorium was largely disused between 1941 and 1967, when it became a rock concert venue.The building sits on a unique stone raft foundation, which was designed by Dankmar Adler and engineer Paul Mueller. The exterior of the building features a rusticated granite base, rusticated limestone on the third floor, and smooth-faced limestone above. The gray granite base features thick corner piers, an arcade on the Ida B. Wells Drive side of the building, a result of the widening of the roadway in 1952, arched bays, rectilinear bays with engaged doric columns and smaller transoms above, smooth granite cladding around the doorways at the central bays along Michigan Avenue, which feature arched transoms, are separated by smooth-faced granite corbels, and sit below an enclosed sun porch with doric pilasters and chamfered engaged columns, and an iron railing on the roof. The second-story features window bays with arched transoms, with the third floor featuring rusticated limestone cladding, windows with transoms, with granite cladding at the base of the tower on the south side of the building extending up to the third floor. The facade features recessed bays between the fourth and seventh floors, with arched windows n the seventh floor, recessed spandrel panels, pilasters between windows, and one-over-one double-hung windows. The eighth and ninth floors feature narrower recessed bays with recessed spandrel panels, and arched transoms at the ninth floor, window bays on the tenth floor separated by engaged tapered doric columns, and a parapet with corbels around the perimeter of the building’s parapet that encloses the low-slope roof. The tower features a base with a large flared cornice, recessed arched bays above with small square window openings, rectilinear bays above with engaged tapered doric columns and a large cornice below, a flared top with small windows, and a low-slope roof enclosed by a parapet. The interior features an auditorium with a barrel vaulted ceiling, decorative Sullivanesque ornament, a paneled proscenium arch, decorative mural, decorative arched screens flanking the stage, multiple tiers of balconies, and a coffered ceiling above the upper balcony. Other intact historic areas of the building include the barrel vaulted ceiling of the old Dining Hall, stairways with coffered ceilings, marble treads and risers, red marble columns with gilded capitals, archways, metal railings, decorative Sullivanesque motifs on the walls, coffered ceilings, mosaic tile floors, stained glass arched transoms, decorative light fixtures, and marble wall cladding.The building was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1970, and was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1975. It was designated a Chicago Landmark in 1976, and is a contributing structure in the Historic Michigan Boulevard District, listed as a Chicago Landmark in 2002. The building was restored in 2001 under the direction of Daniel P. Coffey and Associates and EverGreene Architectural Arts, restoring the exterior of the building, the lobbies, stairs, and the auditorium itself. The building’s auditorium has, in more recent decades, hosted multiple rock concerts by bands such as The Doors and the Grateful Dead. The former office and hotel sections of the building have housed part of Roosevelt University since 1947. It presently hosts performances by the Joffrey Ballet, and special events, such as the 2015 NFL Draft.
撮影日2022-11-07 13:40:06
撮影者w_lemay , Chicago, IL, United States
タグ
撮影地Chicago, Illinois, United States 地図


(C)名入れギフト.com